Destination: Honduras

July 7, 2013 — 5 Comments

Walking in the footsteps of my family before me (father, mother, brothers, and sister), I enjoy the challenges involved in making mission trips. On Thursday of this week I will be departing with a group of 26 other intrepid warriors for the Central American country of Honduras.  It is a country that I have grown to love.  There is incredible beauty there.

2005-07-22 01.03.24

And there is incredible poverty, too.

2006-07-23 14.53.10

The first year I went I met these children.

2004-09-17 12.43.52

Sadly, one of them is now dead, having drowned. But the others are grown young men.

Oftentimes the children are fearful, uncertain what to make of all these gringos invading their mountain village.

2004-07-26 06.57.38-82004-07-26 06.57.38-3

But it doesn’t take long for them to warm up to us.

While we are there, we will build houses, distribute tons of food and clothing, go to six schools and flouride the children’s teeth and give them toothbrushes, our doctors will see over a thousand people, and we will share with all of them the good news of Jesus Christ.

It is my hope that each evening I will be able to post something in my blog about the days activities, plus some photos.  If you want to receive an email notification each time I post something, there is a place to sign up on this page.  In the meantime, please pray for our safety and that God will be glorified by what we do there.

5 responses to Destination: Honduras

  1. 

    Safe travels, David! May God continue to bless you and the work you do, at home and abroad.

  2. 

    Praying for safe travels for the entire group. May God richly bless all your efforts and hard work this week.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Journal from Haiti #5 | Counting Joy Blog - July 8, 2013

    […] See David’s blog (my brother) about his trip to Honduras here. […]

Leave a Reply

